decemberthirty: (Default)
[personal profile] decemberthirty posting in [community profile] 2017revival
Hello! Like many people, I'm a longtime Livejournaler who's working on making the switch over to Dreamwidth. But I've had my journal there since 2001--that's pretty much my entire adult life! Change is hard! In order to help me shift my focus over here instead of over there, I'd like to see if I can establish a more active group of DW-friends. Let me tell you a little bit about myself and my journal.

About me:
My name is Katie, I'm 38, I'm queer, and I'm female. I'm a writer and writing tutor by profession (I write fiction and book reviews; I tutor high school students and beginning creative writers). I grew up in the Hudson Valley in New York State, and currently live in Philadelphia. I live in a very old house with my girlfriend of eighteen years and our two cats. I love to read (favorite writers include E.M. Forster, Marilynne Robinson, Virginia Woolf, Pat Barker, Ursula K. Le Guin, George Saunders, etc). I also like cooking, baking, canning, and food preservation of all kinds; hiking and bird watching; gardening; swimming; watching baseball.... I'm a rather typical introvert and lead a fairly quiet life. I drink entirely too much tea.

About my journal:
I began my LJ as a reading journal, and still often post informal book reviews and thoughts on whatever I happen to be reading. In addition to books, I often post about food and the projects I undertake in the kitchen. Sometimes I use my journal to track goals. Sometimes I write about the things that are going on in my life. Rarely (very rarely) I share my writing. Sometimes I post about art, or the creative process, or a quotation that caught my attention. I tend to post about once or twice a week. There are often photos.

Something you might want to know:
I'm in the habit of unfriending folks if, after giving it a fair chance, it doesn't seem like we're clicking. I'd love it if you'd do the same, but if this is a problem for you, you may want to think twice about adding me. Also, I will admit that I'm not the world's best commenter. My intentions to comment are good and I do make an effort, but the follow-through is not always there. Just so you know.

If you think we'd hit it off, say hello! I'm looking forward to meeting people!

Date: 2017-07-03 10:21 pm (UTC)
jesse_the_k: Elderly smiling white woman captioned "When I was your age I had to walk ten miles in the snow to get stoned & have sex" (old fogey)
From: [personal profile] jesse_the_k
Hello! Hi!

I read a lot and experiment wildly in the kitchen. I'm an old, old fart. I'm in complete agreement with your unfriending habits, and let me just say, the access/subscribe distinction here makes life a whole lot easier in general.

Date: 2017-07-03 11:18 pm (UTC)
littlesable46: (Default)
From: [personal profile] littlesable46
I would love to add you. I'm a hiker and birder, and I love to read. I also love cooking. I live in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan with my husband and kitty, and my kids live in scattered parts of Michigan and California.

I'm fairly new to DW, but had been on LJ for many years. I still cross-post to LJ because I've met some wonderful people there through the years.

Date: 2017-07-04 12:59 pm (UTC)
summerstorm: (Default)
From: [personal profile] summerstorm
Well I wanna see your cats and your old house, for one, but you also sound like the kind of person I like to read, so I added you! I'm totally cool with unfriendings so no worries there.

edit: and I love Virginia Woolf, too.
Edited (added a thing and fixed typos) Date: 2017-07-04 12:59 pm (UTC)

Date: 2017-07-04 07:12 pm (UTC)
norfolkian: Holtzmann from Ghostbusters licking a gun (Default)
From: [personal profile] norfolkian
I've added you! We seem to have a fair few interests in common & I also like Virginia Woolf.

Also, your username looks kind of familiar. I too have been on LJ my whole adult life, but had almost stopped writing in there and deleted it completely once the new T&Cs came in.

Date: 2017-07-05 07:36 pm (UTC)
rabbitica: painting of willows by cayuga lake (Default)
From: [personal profile] rabbitica
Hello! Also queer lady living on the east coast and would like to add you. Similar feelings about friending, too!

Date: 2017-07-05 11:51 pm (UTC)
rabbitica: painting of willows by cayuga lake (Default)
From: [personal profile] rabbitica
Thanks!

Profile

2017revival: Animated icon advising that DW is "not just for queer|fannish|geeky|slash-writing|LJ-hating|godless so-and-sos anymore!" (Default)
A 2017 Revival

July 2017

S M T W T F S
       1
2 34 567 8
91011 1213 14 15
161718 19202122
23242526272829
3031     
Page generated Jul. 21st, 2017 10:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios